EN

Automatisierte Bildverarbeitung

Die meisten Methoden der Partikelgrößenmessung basieren auf der Annahme kugelförmiger Teilchen. Diese Annahme führt zu signifikanten Fehlern bei der Analyse, wenn die Teilchen Flocken sind oder Stäbchenform besitzen. Speziell bei solchen form-anisotropen Partikeln bietet die automatisierte Bildgebung eine hervorragende Möglichkeit zur Einhaltung maßgeschneiderter Größenspezifikationen.
Automatisierte Bildgebungsverfahren zur Bestimmung der Partikelgrößenverteilung eines Materials bieten einen fundamentalen Vorteil gegenüber alternativen Methoden wie statischer Lichtstreuung, Sedimentation oder Siebung: Jedes Teilchen wird einzeln fotografiert. Daraus ergeben sich mehrere wichtige Vorteile für die Bestimmung der Partikelgrößenverteilung:

  • Realistische Proportionalwerte auch an den Rändern der Größenverteilung, d. h. Erkennung überdimensionierter Teilchen oder feiner Partikel.
  • Visuelle Beurteilung des dispergierenden Zustands einer Probe (Dispergierqualität, Vorhandensein von Agglomeraten).
  • Berechnung sinnvoller Größenparameter, z. B. geodätischer Länge oder Feret-Durchmesser für Fasern, je nach Anwendung.
  • Auswahl des geeigneten Verteilungstyps (Volumen, Zahl) je nach Aufgabenstellung.

Darüber hinaus bietet die individuelle Photographie der Teilchen die Möglichkeit, statistische Berechnungen über die Partikelform vorzunehmen, die in der Praxis eine weitere Differenzierung der Materialien ermöglicht. So spielt z.B. die Form-Anisotropie, die Abweichung von der idealen Rundheit, oft eine entscheidende Rolle für ihre Anwendung und Weiterverarbeitung, z.B. für die Förderung oder Verdichtung von Pulvern, Beeinflussung der Rheologie von Dispersionen oder die Rauheit der Teilchenoberfläche im Zusammenhang mit der Partikelgrößenverteilung spielen eine wichtige Rolle für Polieren und Schleifen.
Die Notwendigkeit maßgeschneiderter Partikelgrößen und Formparameter in Verbindung mit stetig wachsender Computerleistung sorgt dafür, dass automatisierte Bildgebungsverfahren immer relevanter werden für einen Markt, der aus 95 % nichtsphärischen Partikeln besteht.

  • Brennstoffzellen/Batterien Brennstoffzellen/Batterien

    Bettersize-Analysegeräte bieten Partikelgrößenverteilung, Schütt- und Stampfdichte sowie andere physikalische Eigenschaften von Kathode- und Anodenmaterialien, um zur technologischen Entwicklung und Leistungsverbesserung von Brennstoffzellen beizutragen.

    Mehr Infos
  • Pharmazeutische Entwicklung Pharmazeutische Entwicklung

    Bettersize-Analysegeräte bieten Testdaten der Partikelgrößenverteilung und der physikalischen Leistungsfähigkeit von Pulvern, um zum gesamten Prozess der pharmazeutischen Forschung, Entwicklung und Produktion beizutragen. Korngrößenmessung besitzt in der

    Mehr Infos
  • Agrochemische Analyse Agrochemische Analyse

    Bettersize-Analysegeräte sind notwendige Werkzeuge für die Partikelgrößenprüfung und Partikelformanalyse aller Arten von Suspension. Internationaler Standard, hohe Leistung und Genauigkeit, die Bettersize- Partikelgrößenanalysatoren geben Ihnen mehr Vertr

    Mehr Infos
  • Farben, Tinten, Pigmente und Beschichtungen Farben, Tinten, Pigmente und Beschichtungen

    Bettersize-Analysegeräte liefern solche physikalischen Daten wie die Partikelgrößenverteilung und die Pulverfließfähigkeit von Farben, Tinten und Beschichtungsprodukten. Partikelgrößenprüfung ist bei der Produktion sehr wichtig.

    Mehr Infos
  • Chemikalien Chemikalien

    In der Produktionskontrolle werden Partikelgrößen, Partikelformen u.a. Pulvereigenschaften von Chemikalien mit Bettersize-Analysegeräte weit verbreitet untersucht.

    Mehr Infos
  • Bergbau und Mineralien Bergbau und Mineralien

    Bettersize-Analyseinstrumente für Partikelgröße und Partikelform sind weit verbreitet in der Forschung, Herstellung und Anwendung aller Arten von Mineralien.

    Mehr Infos
  • 3D-Druck und Pulvermetalle 3D-Druck und Pulvermetalle

    Bettersize-Analyseinstrumente bieten die Prüfung der Partikelgrößenverteilung und die Produktionskontrolle von keramischen Produkten.

    Mehr Infos
  • Keramik Keramik

    Bettersize-Analyseinstrumente bieten die Prüfung der Partikelgrößenverteilung und die Produktionskontrolle von keramischen Produkten.

    Mehr Infos
  • Elektronik

    Bettersize-Analyseinstrumente bieten die Prüfung der Partikelgrößenverteilung und die Prüfung der Partikelform der Rohstoffe elektronischer Produkte.

    Mehr Infos
  • Schleifmittel Schleifmittel

    Bettersize-Analyseinstrumente messen Partikelgrößen und Partikelformen von Siliziumkarbid, Granat, Diamant, Korund und Aluminiumoxid.

    Mehr Infos
  • Zement Zement

    Bettersize-Analyseinstrumente liefern die Partikelgrößenverteilung u.a. pulverphysikalische Eigenschaften von Zementprodukten.

    Mehr Infos
  • Boden- und Sedimentwissenschaft Boden- und Sedimentwissenschaft

    Bettersize-Analyseinstrumente liefern die Partikelgrößen sowie Sandinhaltsanalyse von Boden- und Sedimentproben.

    Mehr Infos
  • Öl und Petrochemikalien Öl und Petrochemikalien

    Die Partikelgröße ist ein sehr wichtiger Parameter in der petrochemischen Industrie.

    Mehr Infos
  • Die Kohleindustrie Die Kohleindustrie

    Bettersize-Analyseinstrumente liefern Partikeleigenschaften von Produkten der Kohleindustrie (Kohle, Kohlewasseraufschlämmung und Kohlenasche).

    Mehr Infos
  • Lebensmittel und Getränke Lebensmittel und Getränke

    Prüfungen der Partikelgrößenverteilung in der Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie liefert notwendige Daten zur Verbesserung der Qualität und der Produktionseffizienz.

    Mehr Infos
Analysegeräte
Messmethode

Die Bestimmung der Partikelform durch automatisierte Bildgebung umfasst 4 grundlegende Schritte:
1. Bildaufnahme
2. Bildverarbeitung
3. Objekterkennung
4. Klassifizierung



Processing chain

Verarbeitungskette

Die Aufnahme des Bildes wird bei Bedarf durch spezielle Digitalkameras in Kombination mit einem Mikroskop gewährleistet, um die Partikel zu vergrößern. Die Teilchen können neutral (z.B. auf einem Objektiv) oder auch in Bewegung sein. Die Dispergierung (Trennung) von Partikeln ist sowohl im Trockenmodus (z.B. durch einfaches Fördern und Sieben oder durch den Einsatz von Druckluft) als auch im Nassmodus in einem Lösungsmittel möglich. Grundvoraussetzung für eine erfolgreiche Partikelformanalyse sind hohe Auflösung und Bildschärfe sowie gute Probendispergierung, was zur Messung einzelner Partikel und zur entsprechenden Vergrößerung führt. Die Bearbeitung von Bildern durch entsprechende Software führt zu verbesserten Bildern: z.B. werden vereinzelte Pixel und Kantenpartikel eliminiert, Helligkeits- und Signalgeräuschschwankungen retuschiert und agglomerierte Partikel getrennt. Der Hauptteil bei der Erkennung von Objekten ist die Bildbinarisierung, wobei jedem Bildpixel einem Teilchen (schwarz) oder dem Hintergrund (weiß) mit Hilfe eines Schwellwertes zugeordnet wird. Die Erkennung von Objekten (Teilchen) und die Merkmalzuordnung werden ebenfalls durch die Software realisiert. Bei der Klassifikation, werden die Partikel auf der Basis ihrer zugeordneten Eigenschaften bestimmten Klassen (z.B. Größenäquivalentklassen) zugeordnet.
Zahlreiche Größen- und Formparameter können aus Partikelbildern durch die entsprechende Software bestimmt werden. Wichtige Größen sind z.B. äquivalenter Scheibendurchmesser Deq, Faserlänge XLG (geodäsische Länge) oder der Faserdurchmesser XFD.
Der äquivalente Scheibendurchmesser entspricht dem Scheibendurchmesser gleicher Fläche wie 2-D-projizierte Partikel, der in der Verfahrenstechnik häufig als Größenindikator für unregelmäßige geformte Partikel verwendet wird. Demgegenüber entspricht der maximal innere Scheibendurchmesser des 2-D-projizierten Partikels mehr oder weniger dem Siebdurchmesser. Geodätische Länge und Faserdurchmesser sind für die Charakterisierung von Fasern sehr gut geeignet.

Important size parameters automated imaging

Wichtige Größenparameter automatisierter Bildgebung

Es gibt zahlreiche und anwendungsspezifische Formparameter. Das Ziel besteht darin, zusätzlich zur Partikelgröße zusätzliche morphologische Parameter zu erhalten, wodurch die Partikeleigenschaften besser oder grundsätzlich beschrieben werden können. Beispiele hierfür sind das Aspect-Verhältnis, das Verhältnis von Länge zu Breite der Teilchen, die Rundheit als Indikator für die Teilchenabweichung vom idealen Kreis und der Konkavitätsindex, der das Verhältnis der Flächendifferenz der konvexen Hülle zur Fläche des Teilchens widerspiegelt. Ein weiterer wichtiger Formparameter ist der Partikelumfang.

Important shape parameters automated imaging
Wichtige Formparameter automatisierte Bildgebung

Literatur und Normen

/ 1 / ISO 13322-2: Partikelgrößenanalyse - Bildanalysemethoden - Teil 2: Dynamische Bildanalysemethoden
/ 2 / ISO 9276-6 Darstellung der Ergebnisse der Partikelgrößenanalyse - Teil 6: Beschreibende und quantitative Darstellung der Partikelform und -morphologie

Eine ausführliche Beschreibung der Partikelform finden Sie hier.

  • No.9, Ganquan Road, Jinquan Industrial Park, Dandong, Liaoning, China.
    No.9, Ganquan Road, Jinquan Industrial Park, Dandong, Liaoning, China.
  • 86-415-6163800
    86-415-6163800

EN

Automated Imaging

Most particle size measurement techonology methods are based on the assumption of spherical shaped particles. This hypothesis leads to significant errors in the analysis if the particles are flake or rod-shaped. Especially for such highly form-anisotropic particles, automated imaging provides an excellent alternative for the determination of tailor-made size specifications.

Automated imaging methods for the determination of the particle size distribution of a material offers a fundamental advantage over alternative methods such as static light scattering, sedimentation or fractionation (screening): Each particle is photographed individually! This results in several important advantages for the determination of the particle size distribution:

  • Realistic proportional values also at the edges of the size distribution, i. e. detection of oversized particles or fine particles
  • Visual assessment of the dispersing state of a sample (dispersing quality, agglomerates present)
  • Calculation of meaningful size parameters, e. g. geodetic length or Feret diameter for fibres, depending on the application
  • Selection of the appropriate distribution type (volume, number) depending on the particular task

  • In addition, the individual photography of the particles gives the opportunity to make statistical calculations on the particle shape, which in practice enables further differentiation of materials. For example, form anisotropy, the deviation of the particles from the ideal sphere, often plays a decisive role for their application and further processing – for example, the conveyance or compaction of powders, the influence on the rheology in dispersions or, in addition to the particle size distribution, the roughness of the particle surface plays an important role for the success of shaping or polishing.

    The necessity for tailor-made particle size and shape parameters, combined with ever-increasing PC processing power, ensures that automated imaging methods are becoming increasingly established on the market.

    • Fuel Cells Fuel Cells

      Bettersize instruments provide particle size distribution, bulk density, tap density and other physical property data of cathode and anode materials so as to contribute to the technological developmen...

      Learn More
    • Pharmaceutical Development Pharmaceutical Development

      Bettersize instruments provide test data of particle size distribution and the physical performance of powder so as to contribute to the whole process of pharmaceutical research, development and produ...

      Learn More
    • Agrochemical Analysis Agrochemical Analysis

      Bettersize instruments are necessary tools for the particle size testing and particle shape analysis of all kinds of suspension agents.Such environmentally friendly water-based agrochemicals as suspen...

      Learn More
    • Paints, Inks, and Coatings Paints, Inks, and Coatings

      Bettersize instruments provide such physical data as the particle size distribution and powder flowability of paints, inks and coating products.The differences between the particle size and particle s...

      Learn More
    • Chemicals Chemicals

      Bettersize instruments are widely used in the study and production control of the particle size, particle shape and powder characteristics of chemicals.In order to develop and optimize the production ...

      Learn More
    • Mining and Minerals Mining and Minerals

      Bettersize particle size and particle shape analysis instruments are widely used in the research, manufacturing and application of all kinds of mining and minerals, bringing favorable profits.The Bett...

      Learn More
    • Metals Metals

      Provide you particle size distribution and particle shape analysis data of metals.The manufacturing of metals includes various physical and chemical processes including smashing, atomization, reductio...

      Learn More
    • Ceramic Ceramic

      Bettersize instruments offer the particle size distribution testing and production control of ceramic products.In the production of ceramics, the appropriate particle size of the preform body, glaze, ...

      Learn More
    • Electronics

      Bettersize instruments provide the particle size distribution testing and particle shape testing of the raw materials of electronic products.In the electronics industry, many materials and processes h...

      Learn More
    • Abrasive Abrasive

      Bettersize instruments provide the particle size distribution and particle shape analysis of silicon carbide, diamond, corundum and other materials.Widely used, abrasive is the ‘teeth’ of the manufa...

      Learn More
    • Cement Cement

      Bettersize instruments provide the particle size distribution and powder physical property data of cement products.Cement production is a typical high energy consumption industry, and the powder grind...

      Learn More
    • Soil Science Soil Science

      Bettersize instruments provide the particle size analysis and sand content analysis data of soil and sediment samples.Particle size distribution is a widely accepted method of determining soil texture...

      Learn More
    • Oil and Petrochemicals Oil and Petrochemicals

      Particle size is a very important parameter in the petrochemical industry.Bettersize laser particle size analyzer wet dispersion system can help you to detect:● Catalysts: including the research and ...

      Learn More
    • Coal Industry Coal Industry

      Bettersize instruments provide the particle size analysis data of coal industry products (coal, coal water slurry and coal ash).Thermal power plants generally smash raw coal into coal fines. The good ...

      Learn More
    • Food and Beverage Food and Beverage

      The particle size distribution testing of the food and drink industry provides necessary data for improving quality and production efficiency.The performance of the food and drink industry is closely ...

      Learn More
    Instruments
    Measurement method

    The determination of the particle shape by automated imaging includes 4 basic steps:
    1. Image taking
    2. Image processing
    3. Object detection
    4. Classification

    Processing chain

    Processing chain

    The image taking is ensured by special digital cameras, if necessary in combination to a microscope, to enlarge the particles. The particles may be present neutral (e.g. on an objective) or in motion as well. The dispersing (separation) of particles is possible both in dry-mode (e.g. by simple conveying and riddling or by the usage of compressed air) but also in wet-mode in a solvent. An absolutely basic requirement to perform a successful particle shape analysis is good quality (high resolution and image sharpness, good sample dispersing resulting in individual particles, suitable enlargement etc.). Image processing by appropriate software leads to upgraded pictures: for example isolated pixels and edging particles are eliminated, variations in brightness and signal noise are retouched and connected particles are separated. The main part in object detection is image binarization, whereby every image pixel is assigned to a particle (black) or the background (white) using a threshold. The recognition of objects (particles) and feature attribution is realized by the software. In the last step, the classification, the particles are arranged in classes (e.g. size equivalent classes) on the basis of their attributed features (size and shape parameters).

    Numerous size and shape parameters can be determined from the particles images by the appropriate software. Important size parameters are for example (CE) equivalent disc diameter Deq, maximum inscribed disc diameter Din, fiber length XLG (geodesic length) and fiber diameter XFD.

    The equivalent disc diameter corresponds to the disc diameter of identical area to 2-D-projected particles, which is often used as size indicator for irregular shaped particles in process technology. On the contrary the maximum inscribed disc diameter of the 2-D-projected particle corresponds more or less to the sieve diameter. The geodesic length and the fiber diameter are suited very well for the characterization of fibers.

    Important size parameters automated imaging

    Important size parameters automated imaging

    There are numerous and very application-specific shape parameters. The aim is to get extra morphological parameters in addition to particle size, whereby the particle characteristics can be better or basically described. Examples are “aspect ratio AD”, the ratio of length to width of the particles, “circularity ZK”, an indicator for particle deviation from the ideal circle and “concavity index C”, which reflects the ratio of area difference of convex envelope and area of the particle to convex envelope. Another important shape parameter is “perimeter”, which displays the particle coverage.

    Important shape parameters automated imaging
    Important shape parameters automated imaging

    Literature and norms

    /1/ ISO 13322-2: Particle size analysis – Image analysis methods – Part 2: Dynamic image analysis methods
    /2/ ISO 9276-6 Representation of results of particle size analysis – Part 6: Descriptive and quantitative representation of particle shape and morphology

    A detailed description of particle shape can be found HERE.
    • No.9, Ganquan Road, Jinquan Industrial Park, Dandong, Liaoning, China.
      No.9, Ganquan Road, Jinquan Industrial Park, Dandong, Liaoning, China.
    • 86-415-6163800
      86-415-6163800